Meant To Be:Episode Eighteen

-18-

*Are you busy?
She looked at the text again, what was it with everyone playing the mystery card. She had no idea who the person was, it certainly was not Evelyn, was Ore at it again?

She dialled the number,
“Hello, please who is this?” she tried to sound as polite as possible.
“Must you waste your credit?” the person replied.

Huh? And the person even had the audacity to use a rude tone.
“Who are you? I just got your text now,” she was infuriated.
“Madam, calm down joor. Instead of you to reply with a simple yes or no, you are speaking unnecessary english.”

Tinu? Crazy Tinu had finally called her, Dami made a funny dance on her chair.
“Tinu” she shouted into the phone, “na wa”
Tinu laughed, “you get credit wella oh, anyhow shaaa are you busy?”

Dami looked at the material she had been reading for over thirty minutes, she was actually busy but it was not everyday you got to see Tinu around.

“I’m not busy oh,” she replied.
“Come to that ugly structure in your school, I’m waiting there.” Tinu informed.
“Ugly structure?” Dami asked. What could Tinu be referring to as ugly structure?

She heard Tinu talking to somebody in the background, “Okay they said the place is called amphitheatre. Be fast oh.”
Dami shook her head, so the amphitheatre was the ugly structure, “On my way Ma’am,” she replied.

She hung up and closed her books, Tinu had not replied her on facebook so she had not expected her call, including her contact in the message she sent was not a bad idea afterall.

She got to the amphitheatre and saw Tinu sitting by a corner.
“Tinu,” she called out while walking towards her direction.
“That was fast,” Tinu replied, she obviously was expecting her to waste so much time.
“I told you I was not really busy now,” Dami replied. Was there time for all these greetings, she had better go straight to the point.

“I got your message,” Tinu replied, Dami sighed, thank God she was doing justice to the topic.
“So do you have her contact?” she asked.
“Evelyn’s? No ooo,” Dami replied.
“But you claimed she sent you a friend request,” Tinu questioned.
“I didn’t accept it now, what’s the point?” Dami replied, why would she even consider accepting the friend request?

“Now we don’t have her contact, having her contact would have made things way easier, but don’t worry I’ll get that myself.” Tinu stood up and brushed her jeans at the back region.

“Are we done?” Dami asked.
“Yes now, actually there is this babe that is fronting for me…” she was saying, Dami did not hear the rest. She did not want any crazy assignment again.

Tinu must have sensed her discomfort, “don’t worry, I’m not sending you to do anything. I’ll see you later”
“Tinu wait,” Dami said, “please, you never got to tell me how you handled Evelyn the last time.”

“You wan hear tory?” she looked at her wristwatch, “shey you’ll pay for this shaaa?” she asked with a playful tone.
“I’ll try to be brief as possible, sit down,” she instructed while settling beside Dami, “see, my mum and Evelyn’s mum were once lovers. When the entire school believed both of you were dating, I did not believe it, which was why I helped you.”

“There was no much issue, Evelyn got her mum to pester you into the relationship, I got my mum on my side claiming that I liked you and Evelyn was an opposition. When they realised it would cause an issue, they instructed us to back off.” Tinu sighed, “It was nothing much, maybe she realised that I’m no longer close to you and then chose to strike again.”

“Wow! Your mum and her mum?” Dami asked, unbelief was clearly written on her face. Why would fully grown women be involved in acts like that?

“But why are you helping me?” she probed further.
“I don’t know, its strange despite the fact that you are a very pretty girl I’m not attracted to you. I simply see you as my younger sister.”

“Younger?” Dami spoke out, were they not age mates? “how old are you sef?”
“see you, so you think I’m a small girl like you. I’m twenty one years old oh and you are just nineteen.”

“Thank you, please if you can talk to her like you guys did the last time. Beg her to leave me alone.” Dami said while standing up, the discussion was obviously over.
“I’m going to the faculty of social sciences, where is the place?” Tinu asked.

“I’ll show you when we get there, but I’m not following you oh.”
They both walked towards newhall,
“so do you have a boyfriend now?” Tinu asked.
“No oh, I don’t have time for them Big sister,” Dami teased.

“Na so, so you are claiming that these silly unilag boys are not servicing your engine yet.” she said, two guys who walked past them turned to look at Dami.
“God! You are so blunt with your words, anyway this is the way to get to social sciences. I’ll call you later. Thank you” she said and crossed to the other side.

Tinu walked on towards her destination, she felt pity for Dami, even though she had told her the truth, she had made several omissions.

Facts that should not have been omitted.

*to be continued*

Leave a Reply

