Meant To Be: Episode Forty Eight

-48-

Chuks kept on following while taking his time to monitor the environment, luckily for him the offices adjacent was bubbling with activities and members of staff in the company, making him calm and free from worries.

He entered the man’s office and closed the door after him.

“Sit,” the man instructed.

He sat and scanned the man’s office, the calendars hanged in different corners in the room, the documents piled in the cabinet across the room, the folders stacked on the adjacent side of the table.

“I’m yet to introduce myself, my name is Ayo. I’m a friend of Ada, we’ve been friends for years and we worship in the same church.”

Chuks kept quiet and focused his mind on what Ayo was saying.

“She called me three days ago and asked me to reach you, she is not around and I know you are probably worried as to why she did not call personally. She is fi..fine.” Ayo concluded.

Chuks stood up, was it just him or did Ayo just stutter when he mentioned ‘fine’?

“Chuks, please sit down. She asked me to encourage you by reminding you to read the bible daily, she equally asked me to inform you that she is praying for you.”

Chuks kept quiet all the same, he looked down on his toes before directing his gaze to Ayo who was smiling at him from his seat, he was worried about Ada and as much as he tried to fight the fact that he was not, he found it hard.

“I would not just want us to exist as mutual friends of Ada, I want us to be close too,” Ayo continued, “so how have you been? How is your family, work and everything?”

Chuks did not hear a word of what Ayo said, all that kept ringing in his head was the ‘fi…fine’ that Ayo had previously stuttered. Where was Ada? What was wrong with her? Why was she trying to link him with another person?

He did not realise someone was calling him, neither did he notice his phone was ringing in his pocket, he had no idea he had even left Ayo’s office and was already outside the company.

The blaring of car horns around him was not even strong enough to break the cord between him and his thoughts.

“Comot for road,” The driver of the danfo shouted. More horns blared, curses from different angles but the object of ridicule who was walking on the expressway unconciously was deaf and oblivious of all that was happening.

He was lost in his world, in his thoughts, there was only one question he wanted an answer to.

And the question was ‘where is Ada?’

——-

“What’s that?” Femi asked Princess who was holding a grey coloured book.

She smiled and stretched her hands handing him the book in the process, “It’s an album, pictures of my secondary school life. Basically pictures of all those that I was related to are in here.”

He shook his head and smiled, “you are really taking this thing serious.”

“What do you mean by I’m taking it serious?” she queried, “I thought we had a deal, are you backing out?”

“No, I’m not. But I need you to be realistic, wouldn’t it be better if you introduced me to them on that day rather than showing me these pictures. Honestly I’d love to see what you look like few years back, but let’s just wait till saturday’s gone, okay” He concluded.

“Okay,” She agreed, she would do anything as long as he did not back out of the game plan. She was beginning to see him as a friend, and this her friend would help her in putting Kenny and Princewill to shame finally come saturday, at least Femi was yet to act like other guys she had met.

She flinched as Femi snapped his finger before her face.
“What?” she screamed, coming out of her reverie.

“Na wa oh, your mind travels so far and quick. I really need you to listen to what I have to say,” Femi started.

“I’m listening.”

“You basically want to use me to get Princewill jealous, isn’t it?” he asked.

“No, I’m sorry that’s what you think. I still feel hurt though but I don’t want him back, I just want to show Kenny and Princewill that I’m not broken, they could not break me.” she replied while gesticulating with her arms and stuttering in the process.

“Alright, but I have a question and a request. Which do you want me to say first?” he asked.

“The question,”

“Perfect, you are trying to prove that they could not break you, that you are still strong right? But…” he paused, “I don’t want you taking it in a bad light, but I feel you’re yet to let go and in a way it doesn’t make you strong. Not really a question I suppose,” he continued and smiled.

She pursed her lips and nodded, “I’m not offended, you are right. I want to really be strong not just by speech and I need you to help me. Please.”

He smiled, “I’m glad you understand, now my request.”

“Alright, spill it.”

“It’s not a must, it’s simply a request. Since you really want to prove to Kenny and your ex, I remember you saying you stopped wearing dresses ever since you discovered he was cheating on you.” he stopped to read the expression on her face, “It’s simply a request but I would love to see you in a dress and makeup come Saturday.”

*to be continued*

Leave a Reply

