Principle For The Week: Is Apologising a big deal?

Photo credit: google

“What the hell!” Alicia shouted and stood from the sittee scaring her flatmates who were playing a game of cards adjacent to her in the process.

“Mama how far you now? Why did you have to shout that way?” Hadiza queried.

“Omo! I swear I’ll kill somebody today,” Alicia threw her phone into the pocket of her jeans.

Queen hissed and returned her attention to the cards she had been playing with Hadiza before Alicia interrupted them.

“You both won’t say anything, abi? It’s all good, let her come and meet me first then I’ll show her some madness.” Alicia continued to rage.

“Would you just let us be,” Queen dropped the cards in her hand on the table, “Wetin? You just dey shout since and you no wan talk wetin happen, if you are not willing to talk, why don’t you just keep quiet.” Queen snapped.

Hadiza nodded with an expression that said she was equally tired of Alicia’s drama.

“You want to know, I’ll tell you. It’s Labi ooo, that girl keeps getting on my nerves every blessed day.”

“And what did Labake do?” Hadiza inquired.

“Do you know she deleted the pictures I took with my family yesterday, she is the only one that has used my phone and besides the pictures were intact before she used my phone this morning,” Alicia explained to the duo who sighed as if it was pre-planned.

Queen stretched her hand, “Let me see your phone,” she requested from Alicia who passed the phone to her, after spending some time and she could not find the pictures Queen returned the phone to Alicia, “Maybe we should wait for her to get back first. Just be calm okay.”

“Hey girls,” the door opened revealing Labake carrying two shopping bags, “Did anyone miss me?”

The girls kept quiet simply returning her greeting with the blank expressions they wore.

“What’s up with you all?” Labake asked while emptying the contents of her bag, “abi na hunger dey wire una reach this level?”

“Why did you delete my pictures?” Alicia blurted out.

“Pictures? What pictures?” Labake asked feigning innocence.

“Labi just tell us what you did with her phone,” Hadiza spoke while shuffling the cards she held.

“Don’t call me Labi, it’s Labake, how many times do i have to correct that.” Labake snapped.

“I’m sorry, please tell us what happened.” Hadiza apologised.

“I used it to access the internet for an assignment.”

“And you deleted the pictures I took with my family.” Alicia interrupted.

“Ooh! That! It was a mistake now, it’s that why you are angry. No be ordinary picture.” Labake hissed and replied non-chalantly before continuing to empty the bags she brought home.

—–

“I’m sorry,” Philip apologised to his elder brother Hector who was fuming with rage, he had exhausted his brother’s airtime without his permission.

“Oh shut up already!” Hector yelled, “I’m sorry, I’m sorry. That’s your favourite phrase,”

Philip kept quiet, his brother had a point, he was always apologising while he would still end up repeating the same thing or doing something worse.

“It seems you’ve forgotten that you used up my credit, erm, when was it, last week tuesday or thereabout. You keep provoking me but you are always quick to say I’m sorry. To be honest, I don’t think you are.” Hector continued.

—–

Case 1 Labake:

Would it have caused her anything to apologise to Alicia, as much as it is very possible that Alicia would still be mad but the truth remains that she would not be as mad as Labake made her.

One sign of maturity is being able to ‘sincerely’ apologise for our actions, our mistakes and even our rights. Yes! I said ‘rights’, there are times we claim to be right, we might actually be right but when you can sincerely apologise even when you are not wrong, trust me you command respect and you’re mature.

Alicia would probably not want to help Labake with her phone when she needs it in the future, I mean, why would she be happy to help her?

Please do not be a Labake (My apologies if your name is Labake *smiles*)

Case 2 Philip:

Do you have a friend, a partner, colleague, family that is quick to always say ‘I’m sorry’ even when they are truly not sorry. Most times they say it so as to get you to shut up, or perhaps you belong to this category.

Do not be a Philip (My apologies again to you if your name is Philip), our apologies should not just be a matter of speech but should equally reflect in our deeds.

Put smiles on the faces of others not frowns, make that sincere apology while you have the chance.

Stay safe.

Happy easter.

#CaseClosed

#LetsGetInspired

8 thoughts on “Principle For The Week: Is Apologising a big deal?

Leave a Reply

