Principle For The Week: PATIENCE certainly not a vice; Bridget’s story

“I’m tired Akachi.” Bridget uttered, “Do you know how frustrating this is?”

“Calm down, what’s the problem?” Akachi questioned.

“How long do I have to wait, look at you. We work in the same field but look at the records of your success and it’s not like I’m not doing the right thing. I am,” Bridget continued, “I’m tired oh! Honestly I’m fed up, even young people who came to me for advice have caught up with me, anyone who sees me would think I’m an amateur in this business.”

Akachi sighed, “Bridget, calm down, will you?

“Sit,” she ordered Bridget who reluctantly obeyed, “Have you ever heard about the chinese bamboo?”

“Bamboon? What’s my business with a monkey?” Bridget laughed.

“No, I said bamboo,”

“Oh, Nope,” she shook her head.

“Good, I’d be delighted to tell you about it.” Akachi smiled before continuing, “Unlike most other plants, Chinese bamboo is quite unique on its own. When this bamboo is planted, watered, and nurtured for the whole growing season, it does not outwardly develop even just for an inch. Then, on the next growing season, the farmer must continue to irrigate, fertilize and care for the bamboo tree and yet nothing happens – it fails to sprout just the same.
And as the seasons go in and out, the farmer has to continue caring for the bamboo for four consecutive years.”

“Four years?” Bridget shouted, “I’d just uproot the seeds and plant something else.”

Akachi laughed, “Why don’t you let me continue?”

“Okay, I’m all ears,”

“What could really be discouraging is the farmer has nothing substantial to demonstrate for all of his labor in caring and growing the tree. Four lonely years of hard work and caring and yet you have nothing!
And then on the fifth year, you must be prepared for something so amazing and incredible!
All the hard work seems to be paid off on the fifth year because that Chinese bamboo tree seed at last grows and not just growing as we normally see with other plants. The bamboo tree shoots up to more than 80 feet all in just one growing season!”

Bridget expression quickly changed from that of disgust to suprise, she was about to say something but kept quiet when Akachi signalled her to keep mute.

“Now, that is a very astonishing demonstration of the power of nature! Now, you might be thinking: Did the small tree loll inactive for four years and then just decides to grow dramatically on the fifth? I think the answer is quite clear for us to see. The little tree was actually developing itself underground by expanding its root system to make it tough enough to sustain its impending external growth in the fifth year and even beyond. Now, had the tree failed to build up a strong and able underground foundation, it would be impossible for it to keep on growing when it is time to sprout outside into the outside world.”

“Hmmm,” Bridget finally spoke, “that’s a strange but mind-grippingstory. Is it for real?”

“Of course, nature teaches us to be patient, now had it been the farmer was not doing his job, it could have been a different story all together,” Akachi continued, “but he was.”

“So it wasn’t his fault and his patience paid off,” Bridget chipped in.

“Exactly, this is similar to you, Bridget you’ve been doing the right things. I’ve been your friend for years and I can testify to that, had it been you were doing wrong things, it could have been different. Be patient dear, you’d certainly benefit from your patience. Trust me!”

“Thanks Akachi, you’re a good friend.”

“You’re welcome, meanwhile the company’s president wants to see you in the next erm,” Akachi checked her wristwatch before replying, “eight minutes.”

“Really? What for?” Bridget inquired.

“Go see him and find out.”

-Two months later-

“I seriously believe this is a dream, It’s unbelievable.” Bridget jumped and laughed while dancing happily.

“Congrats dear,” Akachi hugged her friend, “Imagine what would have happened had you given up?”

“Ah!” Bridget replied breaking the hug, “someone else could have gotten the contract instead of me, thank God”

Akachi simply smiled.

“Thanks Akachi for encouraging me the other day, I’ve learnt that patience pays, God bless you so much,” Bridget continued and hugged her friend again.

LESSON LEARNT

In all we do, always know that a journey of a thousand miles begins with a step, the journey to becoming successful is a process.

Please dear friends let’s all be patient(while doing the right things), it sure pays. 🙂 😀

Patience is a virtue, not a vice. 🙂

Happy New Week, do take out time to comment and share.

:-*


8 thoughts on “Principle For The Week: PATIENCE certainly not a vice; Bridget’s story

  1. Nice One…
    Insightful as usual..
    Look at my summary:
    PATIENCE:::::::::::::
    P-Principal.
    A-A virtue not a vice.
    T-(It)Tolerates.
    I-Important.
    E-(It)Enriches.
    N-Never too much.
    C-(It)Combats violence.
    E-(It)Endures.

    Like

Leave a comment